Chronology of Catholic Dioceses:Notes on the Diocese of Gregorio de Laferrere, 2000

On 25 November 2000, it was made public that the Holy Father, Pope John Paul II, had erected the Diocese of Gregorio de Laferrere, Argentina (area 1,293 sqkm, population 700,000, parishes 24 (and 73 chapels), diocesan priests 23, religious priests 24, lay brothers 2, religious sisters 50), with territory taken from the diocese of San Justo, making it a suffragan of the metropolitan church of Buenos Aires. He appointed Msgr. Juan Horacio Suarez, vicar general of San Justo, as the first bishop of the new diocese. The bishop-elect was born in Villa Nueva, Argentina, in 1938 and ordained a priest in 1967.

Source: Vatican Information Service, Vatican Press Office

- CT

av Webmaster publisert 08.09.2004, sist endret 08.09.2004 - 12:11