Chronology of Catholic Dioceses:Notes on the Diocese of Maradi, 2001

The Holy Father, Pope John Paul II has created (March 13, 2001) the diocese of Maradi (Niger) with territory taken from the diocese of Niamey, immediately subject to the Holy See.

The new diocese of Maradi, will include the following civil districts in the diocese of Niamey: Tahoua, Agades, Bilma, Diffa, Zinder and Maradi.

The new diocese was created for three main purposes: to further dialogue with Muslims; to provide more education, charitable and social pastoral care; to address the problem of religious cults and sects.

Here are the statistics of the new diocese of Maradi and Niamey mother diocese:

Niamey before MARADI Niamey today


1,250,000 sq km 1,000,000 sq km 250,000 sq km


11,000,000 6,000,000 5,000,000


20,000 1,500 18,500


22 8 14

Priests (diocesan)

7 2 5

Priests (religious)

41 16 25

Women religious

92 40 52

Major seminarians

14 5 9


50 35 15

The diocese will border to the north with Algeria and Libya, to the east with Chad, to the south with Nigeria and to the west with the Niamey diocese and with Mali.

The new Bishop will have his See at Maradi and the parish church dedicated to Our Lady of Lourdes will become the cathedral.

Source: Fides, March 30 2001

- CNy

av Webmaster publisert 08.09.2004, sist endret 08.09.2004 - 12:11