Chronology of Catholic Dioceses:Bailiwick of Guernsey

See a list of abbreviations used in this list.

(There is no, and has never been any, Catholic Territorial Jurisdiction in the Bailiwick of Guernsey [in 2000]. The Diocese of Portsmouth, with its See in England, covers the entire Bailiwick.

However, this was not always so. Below is a list of the Sees to which the Channel Islands - Jersey, Guernsey, adjacent islands - have belonged ecclesiastically.

(de facto longer, at least until 1536, de jure past 1536 maybe even longer, lsee note) part of Coutances - France
attempt to transfer to Exeter - England
attempt to to transfer to Nantes
formally part of Salisbury - England
formally part of Winchester, which can not be considered a Catholic jurisdiction after 1560 - England
de facto part of England (AV, established by the "Propaganda Fide" in Rome) - England
part of London District of England (AV, new name, previously England AV) - England (1807 described as an Apostolic Administration under the London District) - England
part of Southwark (D, detached from London District of England AV) - England
part of Portsmouth (detached from Southwark) - England

For further details, consult this note on the Channel Islands.

av Webmaster publisert 08.09.2004, sist endret 08.09.2004 - 12:10